Journaling

I’m sure I’ve mentioned that I have been keeping a journal since I was eight years old.  Recently, I’ve been combing through these treasured books for anything about my mom.  And of course, all of the delicious bits of melodrama and unintentional comedy that come from being ages 12 through 14.

EXHIBIT A:

image1

Of course I also blog and have baby books that are always about 25% completed, but until Drew Barrymore mentioned it on my beloved Happier podcast, it hadn’t occurred to me to keep journals of writing by me, to my kids.  What a fantastic gift for them!  I immediately went to Target and picked out three inexpensive notebooks.  (I hemmed and hawed for a moment about finding the perfect journals, but when would I find time to scour Etsy and mom-and-pop stationery stores?  Do it now, I told myself.)

image2

I’m so happy with this task.  Drew says she writes to her two daughters daily, but I’m realistic.  I write when I can, and no detail is too mundane.  I’m not putting any pressure on myself to make it anything but a record of their lives: who they played with, tantrums they threw, and adorable comments they made.  I share memories of Mom-Mom as well, in the hopes that they will always feel her love.

Leave a Reply

