Pancake Mania

Last week, I realized something completely inane.

I am a woman obsessed with pancakes.

That’s weird.  And delicious.  Pancakes make me very happy.  And I further realized that I’ve got all sorts of pancake recipes in my repertoire, so I thought I might share the pancake-lovin’ with you all.

jemima

A little background: I was raised by Aunt Jemima.  My mother – born in 1955 – came of age during a time in which convenience food marketing reached a fever pitch, so we quite literally grew up on all things boxed and canned.  (For a long time, I much preferred Betty Crocker’s boxed mashed potatoes to the real thing.)  We also frequented a LOT of fast food joints, as you do.  I’m not sure if we went multiple times per week, but I know that we visited McDonald’s, Taco Bell, or KFC at least weekly.

So, pancakes in a box?  Syrup chock-full of HFCS and caramel color?  Yes, please.  I honestly didn’t understand that you could make pancake batter FROM SCRATCH for most of my adult life.

But in 2011, I caught wind of Gwyneth Paltrow’s buttermilk pancake recipe and fell in love.  These are decadent and practically melt in your mouth (a whole lotta butter will do that, eh?) and I like to make these occasionally when we have overnight guests in town.  The batter can be made the evening before.

Self Magazine adapted the original recipe, which I believe feeds 12.

Bruce Paltrow’s World Famous Pancakes

Serves 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs (preferably organic)
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly, plus 1/2 tsp per batch to grease pan
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • About 1/2 cup whole milk
  • Maple syrup

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Whisk eggs, 3 tbsp butter and buttermilk in another bowl. Whisk wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined. (Small lumps are fine.) Cover batter and let rest overnight in the refrigerator. Heat a large greased griddle or large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add milk to batter until it reaches desired consistency; the more milk, the thinner and more delicate the pancakes. Working in batches of three pancakes, spoon batter onto griddle or skillet. Cook until surface of pancake is covered with bubbles, 2 to 3 minutes. Flip and cook the other side until golden, 2 to 3 minutes. Drizzle warmed maple syrup over pancakes; serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO

372 calories per 2 pancakes with 2 tbsp maple syrup, 11 g fat (6 g saturated), 60 g carbs, 1 g fiber, 9 g protein

Realizing a steady diet of buttermilk pancakes is probably not sustainable, I sought a more healthful recipe.  I found it at 100 Days of Real Food, based on my friend Koos’s recommendation.

Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes
INGREDIENTS
  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 ¾ cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted + butter for frying
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 100% pure maple syrup for serving
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  2. Make a well (hole) in the center of the flour mixture and pour in the honey, eggs, milk, and 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Whisk together thoroughly, but do not overmix.
  3. Gently fold the mashed bananas into the batter with a spatula.
  4. Heat a griddle or sauté pan over medium-high heat. Swirl enough butter around the pan until it is well coated. Add pancake batter using a soup ladle.
  5. When the pancakes have begun brown on the bottom, flip them over to cook the other side.
  6. Serve with warm maple syrup and a side of fruit. And don’t forget to freeze the leftovers for another day!

 

Since we’ve eshewed frozen waffles (most have more than 5 ingredients) we typically make a huge batch of these cakes over the weekend and freeze the leftovers, eating them for breakfast (with fruit of course) several days per week.

When we’re not in the mood for bananas, we make these Strawberry Vanilla morsels from All Recipes, with a few modifications.  We use whole wheat flour, and frozen strawberries (we always have organic frrozen strawberries in the freezer for smoothies).  We let the strawberries defrost a bit, then toss them in the food processor.  We also substitute unsweetened apple sauce for the oil.  These cakes are thus light and delicate.  They also freeze well.

There are weekday mornings, of course, when we’ve run out of freezer pancakes, or I’m simply not in the mood for a whole wheat banana cake.  That’s when I pull out this “oat-cake” recipe.  It serves 1, and since Hendrik doesn’t care for oat-cakes, it’s the perfect size for me.

Oat-rageous Chocolate Chip Pancakes

QUICK INSTRUCTIONS

Combine 3 Tbsp liquid  egg whites (or 1 to 2 egg whites), 1 Tbsp skim milk, 1 Tbsp water, ⅛ tsp vanilla  extract, 3 Tbsp old-fashioned oats, 2 Tbsp whole-wheat flour, 2 tsp sugar, ¼ tsp  baking powder, 1½ tsp mini semisweet chocolate chips, and a pinch of salt. Coat  a skillet with nonstick cooking spray, warm over medium heat, and drop batter to  form 5 cakes. Cook for 2 minutes, flipping once. Serve with a banana. (300  calories, 4 g fat)

For this recipe, I use one egg white, and 2 Tbsps of skim milk.  I also use butter in the skillet, for a little extra taste.  I’ve never been able to form 5 pancakes either – it makes 3 very small but filling cakes.  Finally, I can’t tell if the recipe is 300 calories with or without half of the banana, but you get the gist.  I typically eat this with a banana and some organic maple syrup.

Finally, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention my recent foray into paleo pancakes.  Check it:

IMG_4899 IMG_4903 IMG_4904

I honestly can’t remember what recipe I used.  I think my only ingredients here were bananas, eggs, and vanilla extract.  (Of course, I used butter in the skillet, not exactly paleo-approved.)  These were fairly strange, and very slimy.  They tasted okay though, and I’m sure I will continue to improve my technique.

I realize I just dropped a LIFETIME of pancake knowledge on you all.  What can I say?  I’m a woman obsessed.

What are you eating for breakfast these days?

One thought on “Pancake Mania

Leave a Reply

