Loose Ends

I realize I’ve left many loose ends on the old blog of late.

First, remember my New Year’s Resolutions?

Yeah, me neither.

If there is one thing I’ve learned this year, it is this: a woman cannot be expected to set lofty goals for self-improvement when she has a tiny baby/is not sleeping/is dealing with two year-old histrionics daily/is in graduate school/is not in possession of a housecleaner, a chef, a nanny, or a personal assistant.

THE END.

IMG_4554

Besties, even if one of us doesn’t understand a complete night’s rest. 

On my Tracy Anderson DVD, after the workout, Gwynnie pops up to give a testimonial.  Now, I love GP, despite her current status as most-hated celebrity.  I think she tries.  I think she makes adorable blunders.  We’re all human.  Such is life.

But yesterday, when talking up TA, she said something akin to: “People say, ‘I don’t have time to workout.  I am a mom; I work full-time.’  To which I say, ‘I’m a working mom too!'”

*sputters*

Oh, GP.  I’m so happy you can relate to trying to cram it all in, but I am sure being a gazillionaire doesn’t hurt your cause, love.

And did we catch Jessica Alba’s adorableness this week, ladies?  In which she admitted to BINDING her post-baby belly with a DOUBLE corset, day and night, for three months?  “It was brutal; it’s not for everyone.”  But she conceded: “IT’S SWEATY, BUT WORTH IT.”

%*$%(#$%)(#$)%#$)

jessica alba

Throw us a bone, Jess.

I… I can’t even.  This is what ordinary women are up against?  This is MADNESS.

I’ll step it up at the gym and eat right and record meals and workouts and train for half-marathons and get a gym membership.  But I will NOT WEAR A DOUBLE CORSET FOR THREE MONTHS AFTER GIVING BIRTH.

I’ll take the poochy tummy, guys.  Jesus.

Er – where was I?

Resolutions.

Here’s what was on the agenda for January:

January: Food and Fitness

  • Recommit to the Weight Watchers point system
  • Recommit to my food journal
  • Develop 2013 race schedule
  • Rejoin the gym
  • No processed foods (< 5 ingredients)
  • Read this Real Food blog that my best good friend Koos swears by
  • Recipes for kids with hidden veggies
  • No more than 7 drinks per week (download DrinkTracker app)
  • Run 15 miles per week
  • 15-minute booty workout per day
  • Plank-a-day

And here’s what went down, ultimately:

  • I did NOT recommit to WW.
  • I DID recommit to a food journal in January, and again when I began exploring intuitive eating. I decided to abandon the task in mid-April.  I wrote down a plethora of info religiously: meals, weight, water intake, exercise, sleep.  A few weeks ago, I decided I’d had enough.  I know how to eat.  I’d been keeping track since September.  It was time to move forward, confident I can make the right choices (truffles notwithstanding).
  • I DID develop a race schedule, of sorts, but it consists of one long race (the Dallas half), and then any other 5Ks I can squeeze in along the way.  (To date, I’ve done one.)
  • I DID rejoin the gym.  And it is GLORIOUS.
  • I DO mostly avoid processed foods.  We’re not perfect; pretzels occasionally creep into our pantry, and we’ve eaten a lot of pizza this month.  But for the most part, I’m extremely conscious of what we’re eating, and that’s mostly whole foods.
  • I DID subscribe to the Real Food site.
  • I AM currently revisiting the Deceptively Delicious cookbook; I’m pureeing spinach and broccoli and carrots today.
  • I DO stay within 7 drinks per week.  I tried for 2 drinks per week, and that worked for a short time.  This week, it was more like 7.  Typically?  Four.
  • 15 miles weekly?  NOPE.
  • Booty workout?  NOPE.
  • Plank-a-day.  Started strong, but ultimately, NOPE.

Today, my weight is 141 pounds.  I’m very happy with that number.  (By the way, I’m 5’7″.)  And looking at this list, I feel like I am doing some things right.  I’m engaged and active; just can’t quite get to tackling all of the lofty goals I set for myself this year.

So have you all kept up with your resolutions?

2 thoughts on “Loose Ends

  1. Seems like you’re doing great! Don’t even worry about the other things… they’re little and it’s impossible to tackle everything!! (and there’s NO WAY i could do 2 drinks a week haha 7 is def more realistic) ..and i almost died when i read about jessica alba too!! what do you think of tracy anderson’s dvds? i’ve heard mixed things about her

    • Thanks, friend! I think I like Tracy so far. If you can get passed the duck lips and strangeness of some of the moves, it’s not as hardcore as P90X or Insanity.
      Glad I am not alone in my 7 drinks per week! Still working on that one. 😉

Leave a Reply

