Sugar Detox, Day 4

Oh hello, fourth day without sweets. 

Yesterday, I think I almost started to hallucinate.  I WANT chocolate.  I WANT DESSERT.  I want a goddamn homemade whole wheat strawberry pancake with a bit of maple syrup for breakfast, you guys. 

Most of all?  I want coffee creamer.  Say a prayer of thanks for your creamer this AM.  That stuff is the nectar of the gods.

I’m being totally dramatic.  Yesterday, I had a bit of sugar in the form of coconut milk.  I prepared steel cut oats (my fave) with a cup and a half of coconut milk, golden raisins, and walnuts for breakfast.  It was terribly delicious, with its 13 grams of naughty cane sugar.

Did you know the AHA recommends no more than 6 teaspoons of added sugar a day for women, and 9 teaspoons for men?  There are 4 grams in a teaspoon, so yesterday I had just over three teaspoons of added sugar.  I call that a win.

Do you know how many teaspoons I would like to eat in one day?  That is about a floppity-jillion.  Sugar, you are so magical.  I miss you, old buddy.

And of course, I’m still eating fruit, dried fruit (with no added sugar, so adios dried cranberries), and Larabars.  Thank you, thank you, Miss Lara. 

Treats/tricks that are keeping me sane:

I have got to tell you though, despite my current belly-aching – and some major afternoon sleepiness the last several days – I feel fantastic this AM, even considering I got precious little shut-eye last night (shout-out, baby A).  The scale read 140.2 this morning.  I ran into a friend on Tuesday at preschool drop-off who said, “You look fantastic.  What have you been doing?”  (People, let’s all compliment someone like this today, because it truly made my week.)  What’s more, I think the Whole Foods check-out guy was making eyes at me yesterday during my emergency Larabar run.  If you are a mother who totes around two babes all the time you know THIS NEVER HAPPENS ANYMORE EVER. 

Plus, my belly bloat is gone.  This is likely due to a combo of eating whole foods, drinking tons of water, and eschewing the sugar.

I’m still plowing through the Fat Chance book, and though I’m only a few chapters in, I find this idea of leptin resistance fascinating.  It seems to explain so much about why we can’t stop eating.  Has anyone else read the book?

I forgot to mention a very important caveat of the sugar detox: I’m allowing myself two drinks per week.  I came up with this number via Jillian Michaels’ recommendation in Slim for Life.  J and I have a date/concert to attend on Saturday night at which I plan to take full advantage of my two drinks before the babysitter inevitably calls me home to deal with my wailing almost eight-month old who was up FOUR times last night to nurse. 

Until next time, have an Unreal nougat bar and think of me. 

Leave a Reply

