Sugar Detox

Morning, chickens!

I’ve been away for what seems like an eternity.  We hosted my mother and stepfather over Easter weekend, and the nature of a quick visit is cramming a whole lotta stuff into a short time.  Unfortunately for my waistline, a “whole lotta stuff” in this case meant FOOD.  We ate at a bevy of restaurants, most of which J and I are not known to frequent.

The Chinese Buffet.  Mr. Jim’s Pizza.  The Golden Corral.

Yikes, people.  Yikes on the Golden Corral.

We did have a lovely dinner at an area steakhouse the night before Easter (though “lovely” in context of an almost three year-old is all relative, eh?  Mommy ordered the Manhattan.)  The filet was fantastic, and I must say: I felt better after eating it.  I wonder if I shouldn’t incorporate more red meat in my diet (my current intake is pretty much nil) or at least evaluate my iron intake.

Of course, it was Easter.  So: CANDY.

After J returned from the airport drop-off on Sunday evening, we took a long walk with the kids and began the detoxing process.

On Monday morning, I stepped on the scale.

The previous Wednesday, I had weighed in at 142.8.

Five days later, the scale read 148.4.

I mean, really?  Can one really gain nearly six pounds in five days?

I felt positively awful.  It was really time to regroup.  Plus, I found this book, which I actually bought.  In hardback.  There was no time to wait for the library to get it to me!

I had just listened to Dr. Lustig on the Diane Rehm show on NPR, and I found his chat riveting.  Here’s the gist:

  • A calorie is NOT just a calorie.
  • Sugar is killing us all.
  • No, seriously.  Leptin is the hormone that indicates satiety to our brain.  The massive amount of sugar we’re consuming causes insulin spikes, which leads to leptin resistance.
  • Obesity is a marker for metabolic syndrome, not the cause.

Dr. Lustig also has a slightly caustic writing style, which makes this an even more compelling, easy read thus far.

Anywho, it’s no secret that yours truly has a SERIOUS SUGAR ADDICTION.  I always have.  I remember Fun Dip, Snapple, Zebra Cakes, Oatmeal Cream Pies, Sweettarts, Sprees, Twizzlers, and Tasty Kakes more than fondly; these guys were my brothers.

I crave sweet every day, if not multiple times a day.  And I actually cannot do sweets in moderation.  Sure, I’ll set out to have just one peanut butter cup.  But after two bites that delicious morsel has disappeared so I will take three more, ok?

(This is where Intuitive Eating has failed me, or perhaps I have failed it.  I’m trying to figure out how to eat intuitively without eating ALL the peanut butter cups.  I don’t know that sugary treats need to be part of my diet, and I’m still experimenting with the extent I can allow them.  This month?  Trying complete avoidance.)

I’ve got to break the cycle.  I started yesterday.  J and I have set a 30-Day Challenge for us to look and feel better by vacation time, and this “sugar detox” will be a large part of it.

Some of my self-imposed rules:

  • Absolutely no dessert foods.  No ice cream, no chocolate, no frozen yogurt.
  • No added sugar.  This means no honey, no maple syrup, and no stevia.
  • No added sugar also means no coffee creamer, which makes me very sad in my heart.
  • No waste.  A few things I recently bought have added sugar in them (I’m looking at you, coconut milk).  I am allowing myself to finish those things and not repurchase for the 30 days.
  • Peanut butter and almond butter are a free zone.  They have minimal sugar added and are one of my main sources of healthy fats.

So what did Day 1 look and feel like?

I started off with a scrambled egg with spinach and a bit of monterey jack cheese, with a spinach cake on the side.  I missed ketchup something fierce.

IMG_4811

For a snack, I prepared some hard-boiled eggs and “deviled” one.  I added dijon mustard, a bit of EVOO, salt, and paprika.  ‘Twas delicious.

IMG_4816

We had no spinach or spring mix for a proper salad, and after a quick scan of the fridge I decided on an Ezekial English Muffin “pizza” with fresh mozzarella and a bit of tomato sauce (also against the rules with added sugar, but the jar was opened in the fridge.  No waste.)

IMG_4285

Dinner was a veggie burger wrap with tomato, avocado, and mustard.  I also made some steamed carrots and whole wheat pasta with a bit of parmesan and butter for H, who requested it.

I had class last night, so I brought my ubiquitous lemon water and a cashew cookie Larabar (ingredients: cashews, dates).

I was still a bit hungry when I arrived home from class, so I snacked on some cottage cheese and a clementine, as well as one of H’s apple sauces.

I did feel a bit sleepy at points in the day; especially on my drive to school, listening to my history podcast.  But I didn’t have any major crashes.  I keep focusing on the kids.  I tell myself: I’m leading by example.  I should eat the way I want my kids to eat.  I need to take care of myself so I’m around for these babies for a long, long time.

The added, anticipated waistline benefits?  Just icing on the proverbial cake that is strictly off limits to yours truly.  (I’m down to 142.6 this AM, by the way.)

Here are some Easter shots!

IMG_4724 IMG_4736 IMG_4744 IMG_4749 IMG_4754

5 thoughts on “Sugar Detox

  1. thank you for posting this, i like knowing i’m not the only one. i am the same way with the sweets – i need to clear the room of them, not just have one. i felt the need to finish up all 8 of my kids’ easter baskets because what 3 year old or 1 year old needs that much chocolate? and of course I can’t let it just sit in the house. i actually started a fast (i know, i know) this morning because i’ve gained 8 lbs since st patty’s day and i need some kind of jumpstart on my diet, which has gone out the window since I got back to exercising.

    • What kind of fast are you doing? I understand the pressure you feel. This “added sugar” detox is making me feel great; and flushing out my system with lemon water is making a real difference on the scale.

  2. Pingback: Sugar Detox, Day 4 | Total Mama Makeover

Leave a Reply

