Weekly Round-Up: Onward.

It’s hard for me to begin this week’s round-up without mentioning how busy we’ve been over here at the Orlando Ranch.  My MIL and SIL and nephew left last Thursday, after a fun-filled week that unfortunately ended with a bout of a stomach bug.  (H, A, and I remain the only men left standing.)  With our guests gone, I shifted my focus back to Finance, which culminated with a grueling exam last night that did no go as well as one would have liked.  It’s safe to assume I do not have a future on the floor of the NYSE.  You’re welcome, investors.

Also last week: to say A stopped sleeping through the night is a gross understatement.  More like A morphed into a newborn again, screaming to nurse every 16 minutes or so.  In reality, after a week of hard teething (two teeth before six months: mercy), she suddenly needed to nurse about every 2 – 3 hours.

We were all bleary-eyed and bitchy for awhile.

Last night, A woke ONLY ONCE and the GATES OF HEAVEN OPENED AND A CHORUS OF ANGELS SANG HALLELUJAH.  Or something.  Good thing too: my body has responded to lack of sleep and proper nutrition by upping the ante with a painful sore throat.  Joy.

No matter: I finally have a few minutes to breathe and get back to blogging where I can list all of my grievances for you.  Don’t say I never gave you anything, gentle readers.

So!  Last week, after the DietBet ended, was something akin to an exhausted dieter-gone-wild around these parts.  I had leftover ice cream cake to eat, guys.  And those pretzels and pita chips I bought for our company.  And the semi-sweet chocolate chips too.  And, er, the glory that is Unreal candy.  Oh, and I’ll take that leftover chimichanga as well, please.

You get my drift.

I also had my annual OBGYN appointment.  I had honestly been dreaming about stepping on the scale there – six months postpartum – having reached my pre-baby weight.  Happy to report: I did it!  I was 141 pounds, a whole TWO days and a lifetime of Carvel after the DietBet ended!

Then, I asked the question that I had been dreading.

M clears throat, whispers, “Can you tell me what my last recorded weight was, before the baby?”

Dudes.  Let’s just say it wasn’t earth-shattering, but it did change the numbers a bit, until I gained back a few ounces in light of the CARVEL.

Current Weight: 143.2

Pounds lost since blog’s inception: 19.4

Pounds lost since A’s birth: 48.8

Weekly Workout Summary

Friday, 2/1                 2.76 mi run

Monday, 2/4              Jillian Michaels 30-Day Shred, Level 1

2.79 mi walk

Tuesday, 2/5              Plank 1:00:02 min

Wednesday, 2/6        Plank 1:02:07 min

Thursday, 2/7             Plank 1:12:03 min

Friday, 2/8                  3.25 mi walk with A

Sunday, 2/10              1.22 mi walk with the fam

Monday, 2/11             Plank 1:00:03 min

Exercise has been tough, but I’m determined to get a handle on this and get more than just my planks done.  By the way, I’ve started Erica House’s Killer Core Plank Challenge. Join us!

Leave a Reply

