Weekly-Round Up: DietBet Fin

I just reread the post I started yesterday.

Y’all, I am kind of in a bad way.

Here’s the gist:

No time.

There’s never any time.

I don’t have time to study!  I’ll never get into Stamford!  I’ll let everyone down!  I’m so CONFUSED!

That’s right, friends.  My life has taken a Jessie Spano shame spiral.

114790402_ZCISdqfl_c

Babies are completely out-of-control.  The older one is pushing limits like never before; the younger one is an absolute delight until she morphs into Ailie After Dark, a seemingly calm infant that goes to sleep as normal around 7 and then is up ALL NIGHT TO HAUNT YOUR DREAMS WITH HER FOGHORN CRY.

So when I woke at 5:02 AM yesterday – after precious little sleep – to read a chapter on bonds, and then A cried out, nursed, and needed to be changed; then H woke, yelled, and needed to use the potty, I just sort of… hung my head and cried.  In the office.  As A sat in her bumbo giggling at me and my husband came in to give me a hug and a pep talk thinking MAYBE SHE IS FINALLY CRACKING UP I WILL TREAD LIGHTLY.

Today, I’m deep-breathing and starting anew.

And I have delicious, I can eat that leftover Carvel ice cream cake in the freezer today news!

The DietBet is over.  And what has become of me, you ask?

A little background: I tried to tow the line on Superbowl Sunday.  We had a few friends over but did not go overboard with treats.  We created a cheese plate with “entertainment” crackers (party!) and boursin and parmesan and Monterey Jack.  We served roasted pine nut hummus with pita chips.  And for dinner, J made his famous pulled pork, and my mother-in-law made a fantastically simple cucumber salad.  For dessert, I purchased a few bite-sized items from the Target bakery.

I thought I was sensible.  I ate well all day; then around 5 snacked on cheese and crackers and a glass of sauvignon blanc.  At dinner, I ate a small serving of pork sans roll, with some vegetarian baked beans and a ton of virtually no-cal cucumber salad.  I had two more small glasses of vino, and ended the night with three bite-sized treats.

Yesterday morn, day 1 of the DietBet two-day final weigh-in period,  I stepped on the scale.

Oh you guys.

143.8!

As you may recall, my goal weight was 141.9.

Crap.

Last Thursday, I had been 141.4.  I tend to fluctuate up to a pound or two in a day, so I decided that I would give one last HUGE effort and try to win this thing once and for all.  Like a good procrastinator, I can rock the pressure deadline.

Yesterday I loaded up on fruits and veggies.  I did the 30-Day Shred with H in the morning, and then went for a 40-minute walk in the afternoon.  I drank a ton of lemon water, ate small snacks, and skipped the delicious meal my sis-in-law prepared (tortellini with chicken sausage and zucchini in a white wine sauce), instead scarfing down mixed veggies, salmon, avocado, and a bit of rice wine vinegar (yummy as well).

J woke me up this morning to snap photos of my weigh-in.

The Biggest Loser tinkly music of dramatic weight loss echoed in my brain.

5e367e9e8d7dfbc2_michelle-winner

141!

141!

141!

I had done it.  And then some!

We quickly snapped the photos and I went straight to the computer to submit.  I took a sip of my coffee, and then decided I wanted to retake the photos as I wasn’t sure the scale picture should be taken from J’s perspective.

When I stepped on the scale again?  It read 141.8.  That is one really dense sip of coffee, y’all.

No matter!  I still hit my goal!  We took a few more photos and I uploaded them to the DietBet site.  Now we wait to see the amount we collect.  I’m proud: I lost 4% of my body weight (6 pounds) in 4 weeks in a healthy manner. I killed my January “Food and Fitness” resolutions (more on that later).

I know it’s a bit silly; but there is something very powerful about setting a small, concrete goal and achieving it.  It allows you to think bigger somehow.

And today, Mama gets to polish off that ice cream cake for a job well done.

Weekly Round-Up:

Current Weight: 141.8

Pounds lost since blog’s inception: 20.8

Pounds lost since A’s birth: 48.8

Weekly Workouts currently inaccessible as my journal is all the way upstairs.

How is your week going thus far?

7 thoughts on “Weekly-Round Up: DietBet Fin

  1. Congratulations!! That is great you got there – especially with your Jessi Spano-esque stress!
    Does lemon water do something better than regular water? If so, I’m off to buy some lemons…

  2. Way to go! You inspired me to join The Biggest Loser competition at work. Took the stairs to the office today! We can do this!

  3. Congratulations! Those small little goals are everything! I’ve failed at mine this week :/ (run two miles without stopping) – and it’s all because of the Jessie Spano thing! (Your post seriously made me smile when I started reading!) These classes are wrecking my world too – I was up til 330am last night studying! (Def doesn’t make for an energetic run!) I don’t know how you do it with little people too! Hang in there, we’ll get through it! 🙂 Congrats again 141 😉

    • Thank you! I need to adopt that run goal again… It seems my runs are getting shorter and shorter. Now I wonder if there is just too much on my to-do list, I can’t just enjoy the run. Hope classes are going well!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Round-Up: Onward. « Total Mama Makeover

Leave a Reply

