Weekly Round-Up: Back to School Edition

Happy Monday, y’all!

I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend.  We enjoyed gorgeous weather in DFW (a nice break, as it’s been fairly cold and gloomy here).  We spent time at the park, went out to a GLORIOUS Mexican dinner with friends, and exercised outdoors.  You can’t beat 65 degrees and sunny in mid-January.

My textbook finally arrived on Saturday afternoon, so I’ve got lots of catching up to do before class resumes on Wednesday night.  So let’s get to it!

Current Weight: 144.8

Pounds lost since blog’s inception: 17.8

Pounds lost since A’s birth: 45.8

And this week’s workouts:

Sunday:           2.31 mi walk with A

Monday:          REST

Tuesday:          Plank (0:56)

Wednesday:    Deck of Cards Workout (yoga booty, burpees, push-ups, squats) for 11 grueling minutes

Thursday:        Plank (1:02)

Friday:             REST

Saturday:        2.24 mi run/walk (I ran the first mile only.  Running is proving challenging after a long hiatus.)

Sunday:           2.6 mi walk with A

Although I didn’t get in as much exercise as I would have liked this week, I’m pleased with my activity considering school started.  We’re having some major adjustment issues with Ailie (she’s refusing her bottle), so we’ve all been a bit stressed.  This week, I’ll attempt to manage my time better to fit in blogging, studying, exercising, on top of child-rearing/cooking/saying a few words to my husband now and then.

Before I escape to a magical land of finance, here are some meals this week:

IMG_4041 IMG_4044 IMG_4046

Exhibit A: Spinach salad with my homemade ginger dressing, wild-caught packaged salmon, and a bit of my rice and lentil concoction from last week – with a side of the Khan Academy – for lunch.

Exhibit B: H helped with dinner on Thursday night.  IT DIDN’T STRESS ME OUT.  AT ALL.

Exhibit C: I burned the brown basmati rice I was attempting to use up on Thursday night.  Dinner ended up being an improvised sauteed chicken breast in a curious lemon sauce, frozen broccoli, and polenta with organic corn.  (The polenta was something I’ve never attempted, and it was interesting.  I find this side particularly charming, as it is a “peasant food” similar to “gruel.”  Eat up, family!)

IMG_4050

This week’s winner was this dessert, suggested to me by a Facebook friend.  Here’s the gist:

  • 2 small organic honeycrisp apples
  • Small packet of organic raisins
  • 1 oz chopped walnuts
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon
  • Dash of vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp butter

I tossed the ingredients, covered, and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes.  Then, I removed the cover, sprinkled with a few old-fashioned oats, and baked for another 5 minutes or so.  Absolutely fantastic, and well-worth the effort of throwing it together after dinner when you need a sweet snack.  Thanks, Meighan!

What are you all eating this week?

One thought on “Weekly Round-Up: Back to School Edition

  1. glad your textbook came in! i’m taking classes that begin monday and i still haven’t ordered mine so i should *probably* get on that 😉 …yummy looking food! a little off topic: but i love the square plates in exhibit C 🙂

Leave a Reply

