Liebster Award

Tuesday I decided it was time to share my blog with my Facebook friends, something I was reticent to do.  I was overwhelmed by the positive responses!  Many visited (my stats were at an all time high) and then shared positive feedback and recipes.  ‘Twas lovely.

Minutes after I took the Facebook share plunge, Melissa at Freeing Imperfections nominated me for a Liebster Award!  Good things happening in the universe all around.

liebster_zps65809ec8

So what is the Liebster?  Here is what it is all about:

1. This award is given to new or up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers.

2. The award is then passed along to other bloggers in the same category to help spread the word and support one another.

3. Each blogger should post 11 random facts about themselves.

4. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, then create 11 new questions for the bloggers you pass the award to.

5. Choose 11 new bloggers (with less than 200 followers) to pass the award to and link them in your post.

6. Go back to their page and tell them about the award.

7. No tag backs.

11 Random Facts About Me:

  1. I wrote for my school newspaper in college, and got to cover many a press junket for very serious and important films, like: Dude!  Where’s My Car?; Little Nicky; Saving Silverman; and – perhaps the most illustrious – Freddy Got Fingered.  You haven’t really lived until you’ve done a roundtable with Tom Green.
  2. I lived in several different neighborhoods in NYC over a six-year span: Brooklyn Heights, Downtown, Upper East Side/Yorktown, and Astoria, Queens.  Astoria takes the cake for me.  I loved that little melting pot and miss it terribly.
  3. My first car was a bright red Hyundai Accent hatchback whom I christened Emma.  I adored that strange little ride, and only got rid of her because I could not handle parking in Queens.  I got a floppity-jillion tickets before I decided it would be much more cost-effective to take the N.
  4. In 2006, my then-boyfriend J and I decided not to do extravagant Christmas gifts.  The deal was to come up with one small, thoughtful present.  I had a picture that he took in Greece made into a small oil painting.  He made me a book… that detailed the trip to Thailand and Cambodia he had thoughtfully, meticulously planned.  GREATEST.  SURPRISE.  EVER.
  5. J and I got engaged in February 2007 at Theodore Roosevelt park in Manhattan.  It’s located next to one of my favorite places, the American Museum of Natural History.  This was just a few weeks after the Christmas gift to end all Christmas gifts.  I was completely stunned.  After our engagement, we skipped the museum and got drunk at a dive bar.  It was heavenly.
  6. When I was 16, my friends and I stalked Usher at a local Ramada Inn.  (It was totally like when Brenda, Donna, and David stalked Color Me Badd, only we didn’t catch Mrs. Martin having an affair..)  We eventually caught him on his way to his show, and he invited us into the back of his van.  Regrettably, he kicked us right back out, but he was incredibly sweet to a bunch of nerds.
  7. I love the show Felicity, especially since she and I began college in NYC at the same time.
  8. I met Jeff Franklin at a friends’ engagement party last May.  How do you approximate the level of thanks worthy of the man that created this show?
  9. I have one tattoo: a small butterfly on my lower abdomen that I got on a whim when I was 18.  I almost always forget about it until my two year-old spots it and asks, “Is that your butterfly?”
  10. I never thought I would enjoy being a stay-at-home-mom.  But raising my children each day is a gift; even when I am burning dinner, the toddler is destroying the kitchen, the baby is screaming, and I want to dive into a vat of pinot noir.
  11. I sometimes miss my old job in marketing.  Once, I was working our booth at a tradeshow in New Hampshire.  A man approached me and asked what our company did.  I gave him my best spiel – I went on for quite awhile – and, when I finally took a breath, asked him what he did for a living.  He smiled and said, “I’m the Governor of the state of New Hampshire.”  Of course.  Of course.

And here are my questions from Melissa:

1. Where did you come up with your blog’s name?
I had a ridiculous brainstorm in the shower.  I knew I wanted to start a health-related blog, as I love nothing more than to talk about wellness and food.  But there are so many areas of my life that needed work, and lead back to overall health and happiness.  So Total Mama Makeover felt right.
2. What’s your favorite type of cardio?
I love to run or walk.  Walking has always been my greatest stress-reliever.  I lived in downtown Manhattan during my last two years of college, and nearly everyday I would escape for a brisk walk across the Brooklyn Bridge.  (I set out equipped with a CD Discman (!), and usually a few Britney Spears CDs.  Thus: I’m ancient, and also had horrific taste in music.)
3. What’s your least favorite exercise?
Some days, I hate running.  My first half was exhilirating.  My second half?  Not so much.  I’m resolved to run the Dallas Half again in December and crush it.
I also hate every second of pilates until the class is over, and then I’m all, “I love pilates!”  But no.  Abs/core are the toughest for me (especially after two sweet babies).
4. Would you rather be gluten intolerant or lactose intolerant?
This is like Sophie’s Choice; both gluten and lactose are like babies to me.  I suppose if I had to choose, I’d be gluten-intolerant.  I’d have no choice but to stay away from the morning buns at Starbucks, and yet I could still eat boatloads of ice cream.  Nailed it!
5. Cold or hot climate?
I remember a winter so frigid in NYC that I literally thought my bones had frozen.  Conversely, our first summer in Dallas had about 90 consecutive days of 115 degrees; our eyeballs were steaming and we couldn’t walk outdoors, lest we combust.  So, um, LA weather for me.  Mild.
6. If you could eat only one dessert for the rest of your life, what would it be?
Again, how does one choose?  But chocolate: yesterday, today, and forever.
7. What imperfection about yourself do you kind of like?
My biggest imperfection is my tendency to procrastinate.  You have never seen a more productive person when I am doing EVERYTHING else but that thing that I am avoiding.
8. Favorite Christmas gift from 2012?
I got exactly two Christmas gifts this holiday season.  (We opted out of presents with our extended family this year.)  The first was a necklace/pendant that my husband selected from our favorite Philadelphia jeweler.  He had given me a similar piece that I ADORED for my 31st birthday but I’d gone and lost it at the zoo. (And I called the zoo each day for a few solid weeks to see if someone had found it.  And I also went back to the zoo to look for it. More than once.)
The second gift was an exquisite ornament that my two year-old son made me in preschool.  It’s a Christmas tree made out of popsicle sticks.  It’s awesome.  So two favorites.
9. Name something you never thought you would or could do that you’ve since done. (Ex: for me, running a half-marathon)
There are so many things here, but two that stand out: I also never thought I’d run a half.  And I’d never thought I’d live in Texas.  It’s lovely to think about the time when my husband and I first started dating in 2005.  I was living in Queens; he in Philadelphia.  Although we had lofty plans, I don’t think we ever could have predicted a move to the Lone Star State.  It’s exciting and challenging, and I hope life takes us to more interesting places before we “settle” down.  I love a new adventure.
10. Name the first 5 things you can pull out of your purse right now.
What’s a “purse”?  I have been carrying around a ginormous diaper bag for the last 80 years.  But in there?  I’ve got your basic Wet Ones, booger wipes, Eos lip balm, headphones (because I still can’t get my new iPhone to sync with my car’s Bluetooth), and raisins.  Always raisins.
11. Name one way that blogging has grown you as an individual.
I’ve been blogging here for five months; but I’ve been blogging here since 2006.  There are times when you press Publish and panic: have I shared too much?  Can I still have a career in politics if this is out there?  Blogging forces you out of your comfort zone.  It forces you to organize your stream-of-consciousness thoughts into some sort of cohesive whole, and then says: Hey, everyone on the Internets?  What do you think?  I am traditionally a person who is afraid of failure; so often I don’t try until conditions are perfect.  Blogging happens in real time.  That’s good for me.  My layout is not where I want it to be.  In order to publish each day, my prose is not as sharp as it could be.  But I’m doing it, and that’s important for me.    As my bestie (in my mind) Gretchen Rubin says: don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.
Thanks again to Melissa for the award!  I have to admit, it took me quite some time to compile this list of bloggers (and if you have over 200 followers, please correct me).  I discovered that most of the blogs I follow are fairly well-established.  I can’t WAIT to begin reading some up-and-coming bloggers like myself.  I’ve added all of these peeps to my blogroll.  Check them out!  And the nominees are:
  1. Jessica at Prayers and Apples
  2. Julie at Year of the Tortoise
  3. Carly at The Fashionista Farmwife
  4. Gem at LiteandEasy
  5. Allie at Navelgazing Blog
  6. Erica at Faith, Family, and Fitness
  7. Kayla at The Lovely Ride
  8. Amanda at Romancing the Unusual
  9. Alex at Healthy Life Happy Wife
  10. Dierdre at Oh Well Whatever
  11. Gabby at Gabby Rose Runs
When you see this, email me at mhemdal@hotmail.com for your round of questions.   Looking forward to getting to know you all!
10 thoughts on “Liebster Award

    • You are awesome for creating a page; and your blog looks FANTASTIC. I need to make some major changes here in terms of layout. I’m sure once you take the plunge, you’ll receive just as positive of a response!

  1. thanks again for the nomination! i’ve had family visiting so it’s been a crazy/fun week (i’m catching up on a little blogging while my mom sleeps… i have a feeling the calm won’t last too much longer lol)… looking forward to participating (and taking more time to read through your answers!) 🙂

  2. On one side, we’re still really excited by the prospect of a paleo is not about having three courses of meal in a day. Key components of the paleo in our daily diet. Food sources were limited to a maximum of six, which we tend to, we end up with a second compelling reason to count the phonemaker down, but certainly not out, while the typical Western diet.

Leave a Reply

