Easy Meals This Week

I headed back to school last night, and there is much to be done to prepare the house and children to make the transition smoothe.  Like:

  • Make sure kids are bathed.
  • Make sure kids are PJed.
  • Make sure A’s milk is defrosted and in bottle.
  • Make sure H’s water bottle is in fridge ready for bedtime.
  • Make sure A has eaten her dinner.
  • Make sure H has eaten his dinner.
  • Actually make dinner.
  • Make sure school bag is packed and ready to roll.
  • Try not to leave house in state of disaster.

So for these nights, I need some simple, healthy meals.  Some staples in our home include:

IMG_3979

Your basic pasta dish, with a sauce made from a jar of organic sauce, chicken sausages, zucchini, and onion.  I love this because you can add whatever veggies you have in the fridge.  It’s a breeze to make.

A new experiment:

IMG_3983

This one didn’t work out exactly as I had intended, but it’s a start.  I was looking for a simple grain salad that I could make for the week and eat for lunch and/or dinner.  This is a lentil/wild rice/brown rice mixture from Whole Foods tossed with carrots, tomatoes, and onions.  I topped with a bit of EVOO, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  I liked it (J did not), but the lentils are a bit too mushy.  This week I’ll attempt this with quinoa.

Sugar detox has been going really well.  (I’m shocked too.)  We’ve been focusing on eating whole foods with no added sugar.  (Though I still indulge in this creamer in the AM.)  We needed dessert the other night though, so I prepared this:

IMG_4032

IMG_4031

It’s frozen peaches (conventional – eek!), plain organic yogurt, a bit each of lemon juice, truvia, and honey.  DELISH.

Oh!  And I am wildly proud of H’s lunch this morning, so I thought I’d share.  (Inspired by Real Food and my best good friend Koos.)

IMG_4040

Those are apple “sandwiches” with almond butter (H requested this AM); a clementine; organic colby cheese; and kamut puffs.  Success!

What are you eating this week?

5 thoughts on “Easy Meals This Week

  1. i’ve been on a big quinoa kick lately – it’s really good (i just tried it for the first time recently… even though a box has been sitting in my cupboard for over a year lol)… i mix in some sauteed shrimp or chicken with diced cherry tomatoes, onions and garlic 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Round-Up: Back to School Edition « Total Mama Makeover

Leave a Reply

