Weekly Round-Up: Sugar Detox

Greetings from the chaos that is the playroom on a Sunday morning.  H and J are playing trains, A is in the jumperoo, and Mama is on borrowed time.

Welp, the last two days were a giant fail of the I NEED THIS ALMOND TOFFEE variety.  I allowed myself to get too hungry at times. (Like, when I took H to a friend’s birthday party yesterday morning at 10:30, and we were both FAMISHED and had to hit up the vending machine for lack of better options.  Why had I forgotten to pack healthy snacks?)

(And then when the pizza and birthday cake were finally served, and I indulged.)

Sugar begets sugar in my world, because by the time we got home, I was sneaking into the pantry for handfuls of chocolate chips.  For shame!

Today, I will be better.

J let me sleep in until 8 AM (I’ve been exhausted, no doubt from all the fake crap I’ve been eating), and as soon as I woke I prepared us fruit and spinach smoothies with coconut milk.

I’m determined to fight my sugar cravings today.  Each time I feel the familiar itch, I’ll choose fruit or nuts instead.  It likely won’t be as satisfying in the short-run, but I’ve got to break this cycle.

The recommended daily intake of sugar for a woman is 30g, or 6 tablespoons.  How much are you getting each day?  I know on days when I slip up, I am hopelessly over this amount.

So, we resolve to do better.

Current Weight: 146.8

Pounds lost since blog’s inception: 15.8

Pounds lost since A’s birth: 43.8

And this week’s workouts:

Monday:          Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown (20 minutes)

Tuesday:          REST

Wednesday:    Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown (full 30-minute workout)

Thursday:        2 mile run at park with Ailie in jogging stroller; .25 mi cooldown

Friday:             Plank PR (1:30); plie squats

Saturday:        REST

I’m nervous about starting school tomorrow, for a myriad of reasons.  I don’t want my blogging or my fitness goals to suffer, so I’ll have to be extremely focused.  I’ll be thinking about this tweet from Bob Harper, which I favorited yesterday:

Embed this into your life: discipline.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Round-Up: Sugar Detox

  1. I started yoga! Just some random chick on demand, but WOW. i forgot how it makes you feel. when you are doing it, you just kind of go through the motions and the next day is like magic. you feel young again! i hope i can keep up 3 – 4 days per week.

    • So glad you are doing it! I agree; I don’t make time for it a lot, but when I do, I feel incredible. Prenatal yoga was one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself. I need to get back to a regular practice!

Leave a Reply

