Just One of Those Days

Yesterday was one of those days.  Things started out good (Mama was up @ 5 getting it done), but they slowly deteriorated with a sinus headache.  We were supposed to meet some friends at the new Perot Museum in Dallas at 3 PM; by noon I told them there was no way we would make it.  Ailie was having a whack attack; my head was throbbing; H was running around like a crazy man and still not napping; we had no dinner plan (we’d be stuck in rush hour traffic on the way home); oh, and I definitely had not showered.

Good times.

Feeling like a hot mess, I was able to finally eat my lunch (salad with salmon, spinach, romaine, tomato, and carrots, plus my totally against-the-rules Lite Caesar dressing that I can’t bear to throw away).  Baby A doesn’t want to nap in her crib these days, so I reluctantly put her in her swing to let her snooze for a few minutes.

I got to work making this granola recipe that Koos texted me.

IMG_3959

My concoction refused to be rolled into balls, but man, was it EVER DELICIOUS.  Hendrik threw himself dramatically to the ground sobbing when I asked him to try a bite; when he finally relented he would not stop eating.  Make these today!

Next, I chopped up some carrots and green beans to go with our leftover pork and vegetarian baked beans.  Dinner eventually looked like this:

IMG_3964

(It broke my heart not to eat a sesame seed bun with J’s delicious pulled pork, but I survived it.)

(I loaded my plate with mostly veggies like a good little health-nut, but it’s no problem for me.  I love vegetables of all kinds.  I just roasted the carrots and beans with a bit of EVOO, salt, pepper, and a little old-school Mrs. Dash.  Yum.)

After dinner prep I managed to get in a Jillian workout.  This one was from our library.  (I love being able to check out fitness DVDs; you save the cash and you alleviate boredom.)

IMG_3957

Between Biggest Loser and this DVD, JM is looking better than ever.  I’ll have what she’s having.  Sister is ripped.

I was able to complete 20 minutes before A woke.  Eventually, H woke from his 2.5 hour nap (!) and performed his impressive down dog:

IMG_3961

Later, J and I got into a knock-down drag-out about a conventional pear.  (I’m not kidding.)  Beware: insisting on organic can sometimes drive your partner insane.

He came around though.  We’re all learning.

5 thoughts on “Just One of Those Days

  1. I just looked up your granola recipe again and just need to grab some dried fruit. Where’s a good place for that? Whole Foods?

Leave a Reply

