Weekly-Round Up: Everything Hurts, Dudes

Welp, it’s taken me a LONG time to recover from the half-marathon, so please excuse my absence.  The day after, my lower extremities felt like bricks.  As my legs began to heal around mid-week, I moved too quickly while getting granola bites out of the oven, and BAM: neck’s out.  I can just about move it again after a week of ibuprofen and heating pads.

Apparently, the lessons continue with this race.  Among them:

  1. Four months post-partum is TOO SOON, unless you were spectacularly fit during pregnancy.  If you ate numerous bowls of cookies-and-cream per day and also put on 50 pounds, maybe give yourself some more time.
  2. CROSS-TRAINING should not be ignored.  Quitting the gym was a mistake in this respect, because I rarely have enough self-discipline to do a work-out DVD, especially when I need to log the miles outdoors.  (Who has the time to run and then come back and do the 30-day shred?  What am I, Beyonce?)  Had I been able to make it to the gym (and use the childcare there), I could have worked on the various cardio machines as well as the treadmill.  I also could have done weights.  Without the gym membership, I just ran, whereas cross-training would have made my body that much stronger to combat 13.1.
  3. C-O-R-E.  I don’t know for sure, but I’m betting some semblance of core strength would have served me well.  My weak, jiggly postpartum belly was just ill-prepared.

So, let’s weekly-round-it-up and then get on with going bananas over holiday hosting/gifts/cards/treats, etc.

Pounds lost this week: 2.4

Pounds lost since blog inception: 12.4

Pounds lost since beautiful baby girl arrived: 40.2

What I’m Eating:

  • The whole fam is doing great with minimal processed foods (That is, until yesterday for moi.  Newsflash: I am a stress-eater.)  But we’ve been making granola bites each week, and snacking on nuts, cheese, fruit, and the occasional organic chocolate chip.  I found pita pockets with just five ingredients at Whole Foods, so those are H’s go-to sandwich bread.
  • Yesterday got the better of me and I went through the Starbucks drive-thru.  Then there may have been some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup consumption.  I’m not beating myself up about this, but I need to do better.

What I’m Doing:

  • You guys?  I think I might start back at LA Fitness.  I know!  But Lifetime Fitness will cost us over $100 a month, and I don’t know that we can swing that, considering how difficult it is to make it to the gym many days.  LA Fitness wants me back, and it looks like I could get there for $40 a month, including childcare.  I’m still mulling it over.
  • In the meantime, I’m trying to use DVDs.  H helped me with the 30-day shred on Monday, but we only made it through one circuit as Ailie got a bit restless.  I did manage to get a few walks on this weekend with the kids, which felt great.  The weather here is just gorgeous (mid-70s, bright sunshine) and perfect for spending time with the kiddos outdoors.
  • Plank-A-Day.  I discovered this on Twitter, and it’s a fun, simple challenge: do one plank each day.  I time myself and each day try to do a bit better.  So far I’m up to 1:16.  Planks are rough, yo; but great for my wobbly core.

What I’m Reading:

  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed.  I had to put down The Passage by Justin Cronin as it was giving me horrific nightmares.  And trust me, my mental health is fragile right now (another post).

What’s Awesome:

  • My son.  At 2.5 years old, it’s not all roses; but this kid is so bright and funny.  The other day, he was driving his truck around the driveway and told me: “I’m going to Whole Foods to get guacamole and cheese.”  On Monday, as we were heading into the post office, he asked if he could run.  “Then I can get my exercises in,” he explained.

Thanksgiving 20121289

Avory's 1st birthday party1213

4 thoughts on “Weekly-Round Up: Everything Hurts, Dudes

  1. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to peer a great weblog like this one these days..

Leave a Reply

