Weekly Round-Up: I’m in there.

My people: it’s been a long week.  Now that we are a family of four, it takes even longer to recover/unpack/organize after a trip.  I still haven’t been able to get all of the laundry in its proper place; but we managed to decorate the house for Christmas, celebrate J’s birthday on Saturday, and take baby A to the doc’s (she’s got an ear infection, poor little lady).  We’ve also spent a lot of time outdoors, as it’s been absolutely gorgeous here in the metroplex: low 80s and sunny, just the way I like it.  We’ve taken H to a local park with a bike trail as he’s just mastered riding his tiny big boy bike with the training wheels.  He’s currently mastering how to share the road with other bikers without careening off the path and wiping out.

I’m just digging out my office now, as it is the official dumping ground for crap that J needs out of his sight.  Though I try to stay on top of it, I’ve got a few weeks worth of mail, bills, H art projects, and receipts piled up on my desk.  I’m almost through the bulk of it.

This week has been largely a health and fitness WIN.  As I mentioned, J and I embarked on Operation Bust-the-Gut, and we’ve been doing well.  We’re avoiding processed foods whenever possible; taking our blood pressure each night (J’s is typically 125/80, and mine is low, around 107/70); and exercising.

This week I fell just short of my mileage goal (20) and ended with 18.03.  My long run was a grueling, soap opera of an affair: I combatted voracious hunger, gel energy packets, and intestinal issues, which I fear will once again plague me at the half this weekend.  I’m trying to stay positive and above all tell myself I can do this.  I just need to put one foot in front of the other and deal with whatever challenges arise along the way.  Such is life, right?

Weekly Round-Up:

Pounds lost this week: 2.4

Total pounds lost since blog inception: 10.6

Total pounds lost since A’s birth: 38

What I’m Eating:

  • Organic fruits and veggies.  I’ve stayed true to my word on not consuming any food on the Dirty Dozen list conventional; which means I had to sort H’s fruit cup for him at Corner Bakery the other night, careful to remove all of the strawberries and grapes.  A little extreme?  Sure.  But this stuff adds up, and I’m determined to control what I can.
  • Speaking of our beloved Corner Bakery, H requested the PB&J sandwich on Friday night (I had to put the HFCS I am sure was in the jelly out of my mind for the night, lest I go completely insane).  So we ordered the stuff on whole grain bread, with a side of fruit and an Organic Valley 1% milk.  Not including the milk, that “kid’s meal” had 810 calories!  That’s ridonculous.  I only let H have half of the sandwich, despite J’s protest.  “He’s two,” I told my long-suffering husband.  “Just because CB serves it this way, does not MEAN it is appropriate.”  Come on, American eateries.  Stop trying to make my babies obese.
  • For my endurance run, I need a little energy goo.  I was delighted to find these 90% organic Clif packets.  The chocolate is delish!  I took one about 15 minutes before my run, and 30 minutes into it when I felt positively ravenous.  To my delight, after a few minutes my hunger dissipated and I was able to continue my trek.

What I’m Doing:

  • Piling on the miles.  I have to believe it’s enough to get me through 13.1 on Sunday.  I’ve got an oddly stiff neck, but other than that, I feel great.
  • I plan on doing some light yoga (I have a 20-minute morning and evening DVD) each day this week, and hitting the road for what should be “tapering.”
  • What I’m looking forward to next?  The barre workout.  There’s a studio in the next town, and I plan on working this into the schedule at least twice a month to start, weekly if I like it and carve out the time.

What I’m Reading:

  • Almost finished with Drop Dead Healthy.  I love this book.  Next up is this one by Jillian Michaels.  Her podcast is really starting to grow on me, as I find myself jotting down many great tips and ideas each time I listen.

Also this week: I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror yesterday, post-run.  My hair was matted to my head; my face was dewy and pink.  I looked spent, but strong, and I thought to myself: I’m in there.  The old me is looking to make a comeback.  Soon.

Finally, here is a shot of that time we saw Santa in the park in December and it was 81 degrees.  Texas.

IMG_2826

One thought on “Weekly Round-Up: I’m in there.

  1. All your hard work WILL pay off, my friend. you are doing great and put such positive energy out there that you are destined to WIN! (sorry, a bit of The Secret coming out).
    i have heard of that class, I heard it is hard, but only becasue you are not used to the movements, so dont judge by the first class.
    H on a bike?? video, please.

Leave a Reply

