Weekly Round-Up: Progress

Drumroll, please…

Mama lost 5.6 pounds!

I feel good.  I’m pleased that I can make this Weight Watchers thing work for me.  I’m hoping to lose four more pounds by the time we travel to Philadelphia for Thanksgiving (then I won’t feel so bad when I gain it back sampling my mother-in-law’s apple pie).

This was a good week.

What I’m Doing:

  • Running more!  J and I mapped out a five-mile route on Sunday and he dropped me the proper distance from home.  (I’ve found that the only sure-fire way to complete a long run is to HAVE to complete it so you can get home and eat lunch.)  I felt great during the jog; I was finally in the zone.  When I arrived home I eagerly checked my RunKeeper app. Imagine my  disappointment to see I hadn’t even run four.  We’re not sure how we missed an entire mile, but I dutifully went back outside.  I hit 4.96, and I was very pleased with that.

What I’m Eating:

  • Vanessa gave me Cook Yourself Thin as a gift last year, and this week I’m trying out some of the more interesting recipes.  So far I’ve made granola (which I burnt but will eat anyway); vanilla cupcakes (made with no butter or oil; instead ground pecans and grated zucchini); and chicken “parmesan” served with zucchini “pasta”.  All have been excellent.  One day, I will actually show you a photo of the things I make.  For now, just try to picture something looking fairly awful (I’m still working on presentation), but tasting healthful and delicious.

What I’m Reading:

  • Cook Yourself Thin, obviously.
  • For a non-fitness escape, I just finished Seating Arrangements by Maggie Shipstead, and I thoroughly enjoyed.  I was consistently awed by the prose in the book, and eventually flipped to the back cover and learned the author was born in 1983, and this was her first novel.  All the more impressive and inspiring.

I’m looking forward to another great week, Halloween candy be damned.  After being glued to the news these past few days (first following this horrific story, then anxiously monitoring Hurricane Sandy), I’m ready to unwind by practicing peace and calm and PATIENCE with my teething toddler.  I read this quote recently and it’s quickly becoming my personal mantra:

 “Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind.” 
– Henry James

Enjoy the holiday with your families!

One thought on “Weekly Round-Up: Progress

  1. Pingback: Weekly Round-Up: Rock the Vote « Total Mama Makeover

Leave a Reply

