Weekly Round-Up

Written on Saturday, September 29th. (Mostly.  Man, kids cramp your style, eh?)

I quite literally just stepped out of my living room into my office after my first P90X workout.  I realize I am getting a bit too ambitious with my plans, so I’ve resolved to supplement my half-marathon training with P90X DVDs.  Today I went for Cardio X, and I’m happy to report I didn’t die.  Tomorrow I plan to go for a long-ish run (whatever my poor, underused legs can handle, along with my squishy core).  Then on Monday, I’ll start my training schedule in earnest.  (I’ll have to start at Week 3, as I only have 10 weeks until race day.)

This week was full of successes and failures, as I expect most weeks to be.  My weight has not really budged.  I indulged in Starbucks, and last night I had J bring me home “treats” for the weekend (I ate a Twix bar and a bowl of chocolate peanut butter ice cream).  Not my finest food choices, but I have been fairly mindful the rest of the time.  Here’s the gist of what I’ve been up to this week.

What I’m Doing:

  1. Keeping a food journal.  I love the Lose It! app on my iPhone, but I find I lose patience with it very quickly because I’m forced to count calories for every morsel I eat.  It’s just not conducive to my lifestyle right now.  So I tote my tiny food journal around all day, and keep a log of what I ingest.  I find it much more manageable, and miraculously, it still holds me accountable.  I also record my weight, any exercise, and my daily steps.
  2. Wearing a pedometer.  Ir’s not terribly inconvenient and I find myself moving just to jack up my daily totals.  This week I averaged 8090 per day.
  3. Squeezing in exercise whenever I can.  I’m lucky to have a kind husband whom, after a long day at work, takes over childcare duty so I can enjoy a mind-clearing walk or jog.  I finally ran on Thursday night, for about 20 minutes.  It was glorious.

What I’m Eating:

  1. Smoothies.  I’ve been trying to have a smoothie a day, ingredients permitting.  I also don’t limit the drinks to mornings; sometimes I’ll have them for snacks during the afternoon.  I use almond milk or coconut milk, typically, and I’ll toss in whatever we have handy.  This week it was banana, strawberry, cantaloupe, kiwi, spinach, cucumber, flaxseed, and whey protein powder.  I also put in a bit of Truvia to add extra sweetness.  Tastes like dessert!
  2. Mixed veggies, salmon, and ginger dressing.  This was my go-to pregnancy lunch, and I am still enamored with it.  I prefer Archer Farms organic mixed vegetables, and in the AM, I mix those with a packet of wild-caught salmon and ginger dressing (any dressing you prefer would work).  Toss them together in a container with a lid, and let sit out until lunch.  By noon, the veggies are defrosted and the meal is still cool.  So simple!
  3. Kale chips and cauliflower popcorn.  I still haven’t mastered the kale chips, but I’ve tried twice this week.  Each time, I devoured them all (Hendrik helped me out a bit.)  For each recipe, I use a little EVOO, salt and pepper, even some garlic salt if I’m feeling frisky.  I toss together and bake on a cookie sheet for 10 – 15 minutes.  The cauliflower “popcorn” recipe came from an old episode of Dr. Oz.  It wasn’t quite crispy (more like very soggy), but I’m willing to try again.

What I’m Reading:

  1. Fitness Magazines.  I find all sorts of inspiration from Self, Health, and Runner’s World.  Luckily, our local library lends these out: easy on the budget and the environment!  Mama likes that.  When I find something I want to remember, instead of dog-earring pages and then forgetting about them, I jot down notes in a book I keep for health and happiness-related tips and thoughts.
  2. Runner’s World Complete Book of Women’s Running.  This book covers everything, and motivates me if I’m feeling lazy.  It’s perpetually on my nightstand.
  3. Happier at Home.  I mentioned that I adore Gretchen Rubin.  Her latest book about the quest for happiness had me furiously highlighting passages and thinking of ways to incorporate some of her ideas into my own home.  If you haven’t read The Happiness Project, I recommend starting with that book.  I reread it in May, and was once again inspired to create a more specific vision for my life.  Even the cover of the book (which remains on the small bookshelf in our bedroom, reserved for some of my most favorite reads) gives me a happiness boost.
  4. Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl.  I picked this up based on a recommendation by Gretchen Rubin; I haven’t gotten through it all yet.  But the premise – that “the most basic human motivation is the will to meaning” – offers perspective that we often lose during the minutiae of everyday life.

That’s about it for my weekly round-up, friends.  What have you been up to this week?

One thought on “Weekly Round-Up

  1. Pingback: Ginger Dressing Win! « Total Mama Makeover

Leave a Reply

